Managing your ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage in DCD

From ProfitBricks Online Help
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Granting Permission for the Usage of ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage

By default, the ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage and an active object storage key are available to contract owners and administrators. They can access their object storage immediately. Other members of a contract need the respective privilege and at least one active object storage key. Contract owners and administrators can grant this privilege and manage their users’ object storage keys.

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Create a new group.
- or -
  • Open an existing group. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > User Manager > Groups)
  • In the Privileges tab, select the Use Object Storage checkbox.
User-management-allow-object-storage-use.png
  • Switch to the Members tab and add all users to the group to whom you want to grant the privilege.
For each user added to the group the automatically generated object storage key is activated along with the privilege to use the object storage. It also activates the Object Storage button in the menu bar of the DCD, through which users with the respective privilege can access the ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage.

In order to stop a user from accessing their object storage, you can do one of the following:

  • Remove the user from the privileged group,
  • Remove the privilege from the group(s) to which the user belongs.

Managing Object Storage Keys

Every bucket owner can have more than one object storage key to grant other users access to their object storage. Contract owners and administrators can manage the object storage keys of all members of a contract.

Creating an Object Storage Key

Creating a Key for Yourself

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
- or -
  • You have the permission to use the ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the Account Management (Menu bar > Resource Manager > Object Storage Key Manager).
  • Click on Generate Key.
User-management-generate-key.png
  • Confirm by clicking OK.

An active object storage key is generated, which can be used to access your object storage.

Key and secret can be copied from the respective fields in the properties of the object storage key:

Account-management-key-and-secret.png

Creating a Key for Another User

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the user management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > User Manager > Users)
  • Select the user for whom you want to create an object storage key.
  • In the Object Storage Keys tab, click on Generate Key.
User-management-generate-key.png
  • Confirm by clicking OK.

An active object storage key is generated, which can be used to access the user’s object storage.

Activating/De-Activating Object Storage Keys

Activating/De-Activating your own Keys

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
- or -
  • You have the permission to use ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the account management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > Object Storage Key Manager)
  • Select the object storage key that you want to activate or de-activate:
    • In order to activate the key, select the Active checkbox.
    • In order to de-activate the key, de-select the Active checkbox.
Account-management-activate-key.png
  • Click on Save so that your changes will be applied.

The selected key and its access to your Object Storage are activated/de-activated. If no other active object storage keys are available, the Object Storage menu in the menu bar is removed.

Activating/De-Activating the Keys of Another User

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the user management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > User Manager > Users)
  • Select the object storage key that you want to activate or de-activate:
    • In order to activate the key, select the Active checkbox.
    • In order to de-activate the key, de-select the Active checkbox.
User-management-activate-key.png
  • Click on Save to apply your changes.

The selected key and its access to the user’s ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage object storage are activated/de-activated. When no other active object storage keys is present, the Object Storage menu in the menu bar is removed.

Deleting Object Storage Keys

NOTE: Before you delete a user or all of their object storage keys from your ProfitBricks account, please ensure - by applying the appropriate permissions - that anything stored in the user’s object storage is accessible for further use or deletion. Private content that has not been deleted prior to the deletion of the user or all of their object storage keys cannot be accessed and will be charged continually. In this case, please contact our support team.

Deleting your own Object Storage Keys

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
- or -
  • You have the permission to use the ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the account management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > Object Storage Key Manager)
  • Select the object storage key that you want to delete.
  • Click on Delete Key.
Account-management-delete-key.png

The selected object storage key is deleted and can no longer be used for accessing your object storage. Once deleted, the object storage key cannot be restored.

Deleting the Object Storage Keys of Another User

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the user management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > User Manager > Users)
  • Select the user whose object storage key you want to delete.
  • In the Object Storage Keys tab, select the key you want to delete.
User-management-delete-key.png
  • Click on Delete Key.

The selected object storage key is deleted and can no longer be used for accessing the user’s object storage. Once deleted, the key cannot be restored.

Retrieving S3 IDs

Depending on the S3 client application you use for accessing your ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage, there are different ways of sharing your bucket contents. Beside using roles and pre-defined access profiles (“canned ACLs”) for managing access to your buckets, you can use “S3 identifiers” (S3 IDs) to share contents with a single user (“ACL sharing”, “S3 sharing”).

See also: S3 IDs

Users will find their S3 IDs in their Account Management. Contract owners and administrators can also view the S3 IDs of other contract members.

Retrieving your own S3 IDs

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
- or -
  • You have the permission to use ProfitBricks S3 Object Storage.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the account management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > Object Storage Key Manager)
  • Open the S3 Sharings drop-down menu.
Your S3 IDs are displayed:
DCD-Account-Management-S3-Sharing.png

You can now copy any of these IDs and send them to the user that wants to share their bucket contents with you.

Retrieving S3 IDs of Another User

Pre-requisites

  • You are a contract owner or administrator.
  • You are logged on to the DCD.

Procedure

  • Open the user management. (Menu bar > Resource Manager > User Manager > Users)
  • Select the user whose S3 ID you want to know.
  • In the Object Storage Keys tab, open the S3 Sharings drop-down menu.
The user’s S3 IDs are displayed:
DCD-User-Management-S3-Sharing.png

You can now copy any of these IDs and use them for sharing your buckets with this user.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Online Help
Introduction
First Steps in the Data Center Designer
Elements and Functions
Information
Tutorials
FAQ
DevOps Central Website
Tools